Jason Rhyne

Jason Rhyne is a recipient of a Jonathan Larson Grant for his work as a composer-lyricist and wrote the lyrics for a musical adaptation of the HBO film ROCKET SCIENCE (music by Stephen Weiner, book by Patricia Cotter), which was awarded a Richard Rodgers Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. ROCKET SCIENCE received staged readings at Playwrights Horizons (dir. Kathleen Marshall), the Village Theatre and the LA Festival of New American Musicals. His work has been featured as part of the Kaufman Center’s Bound for Broadway series, the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and at the O’Neill Theater Center’s Monte Cristo Award gala. Other plays and musicals include MARY COFFIN (reading, Harbor Stage, 2019), LITTLE STRANGER (music by Stephen Weiner), THE MACGUFFIN, presented at the New York Musical Theatre Festival, and an adaptation of the children’s novel LITTLEJIM.

Jason was the inaugural recipient of the ASCAP Foundation’s Lucille and Jack Yellen Award for musical theatre lyricists.